Hermitwitch’s Weblog

At Wit’s End

Magic Lost, Trouble Found

I actually don’t have a single negative thing to say about Magic Lost, Trouble Found or Armed & Magical, both by Lisa Shearin.  (Tez will probably accuse me of writing sappy girly reviews or something.)  They’re both excellent fantasies, with well-drawn characters, and an unusual magic system that works.  That is, the author doesn’t violate the magic’s logic system, if that makes any sense.  I like the world the author creates (it’s got pirates, too). These are definitely the kind of books I will re-read whenever I need a fix of good, solid fantasy.  Five stars.

Impatiently waiting for the next book, even though the second just came out. 😉

April 21, 2008 - Posted by | Book reviews |

3 Comments »

  1. I enjoyed both of those books also. The fantasy wasn’t too violent. The characters worked for me too.I am anxious for the next in series because it will be on top of my to buy list.
    They reminded me of the early Mercedes Lackey books.

    Comment by readerdiane | April 21, 2008

  2. Dude, you forgot to put a winky after that sentence about me 😉

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    Comment by Tez Miller | April 22, 2008

  3. I agree, they weren’t too violent, and no graphic sex (sometimes it just gets a bit tired, all those heaving bosoms and stuff). I’d much rather enjoy the innuendo, the romantic tension.

    And Tez, there are no winkies in reviews! 😮

    Comment by hermitwitch | April 22, 2008


Leave a Reply

