Hermitwitch’s Weblog

At Wit’s End

Midnight Rising (book review)

If you like your male vampires big, hunky, and alpha to the core (I do), you’ll probably enjoy Midnight Rising by Lara Adrian. It’s part of a series, which I have not read and probably won’t. Probably. Maybe. The vampire warrior group reminded me a tiny bit of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger brotherhood, but without the cool factor and prison slang.

I’m always interested to see how different authors interpret vampires, shapeshifters, etc. That is, how they make their version stand out from the burgeoning masses. I think this author did an admirable job of adding a little bling (for want of a better word) without sacrificing all the qualities we love in vampires.*

So, recommended for the vampire addicts among us.

*Except for the part where “people are food” of course.

April 18, 2008 Posted by | Book reviews | | Leave a comment

Rush of Wings (book review)

Hmm. I enjoyed the first few chapters of A Rush of Wings by Adrian Phoenix; it was solid, the kind of serial killer hunt that I enjoy. Happily, I settled down with my tea and book.

Then, about a third of the way into the book, the story and the writing style got a little weird. Almost like it was being written by another person. The main female protagonist, Heather Wallace (age 30 or so), goes from being tough and together to having a somewhat dippy teenager mentality. She makes stupid, unlikely mistakes for an FBI profiler who was top of her class. Of course, perhaps that was because she was fell madly and improbably in love with Dante, a beyond gorgeous, sexy young vampire, and her brain went south. Dante is a tortured soul and, as the story unfolds, it turns out Dante has good reason to be a sociopath since he was trained to be one by the Evil Dr. No. I mean, the Evil Dr. Johanna Moore. The story is further complicated by the names of the characters who were variously referred to by first or last names, which usually isn’t a problem but here it was for some reason. The book is salted through with Dante’s thoughts and songs, which kind of smacked of high school poetry. The most interesting character, to me, was “E,” Dr. Moore’s other experiment.

All that said, though, I think this book would appeal to a younger 20-something crowd who are more into the Goth mindset than I am, or to folks who really enjoyed Anne Rice’s purple erotica.

April 18, 2008 Posted by | Book reviews | , , | Leave a comment