Hermitwitch’s Weblog

At Wit’s End

Book review(s)

There’s just no pleasing me.

Matters of the Blood by Maria Lima: urban fantasy, paranormal romance, mystery.  The author had some good ideas, and the mystery is decent, but the book needed a solid editing for continuity.  At times, the “voice” of the book had a weird immature quality.  I think Maria Lima will be an author to keep an eye on, though.

Black Magic Woman by Justin Gustainis: urban fantasy, mystery.  Okay, I admit it.  I didn’t even get to chapter two.  I find most attempts at writing dialect annoying, and that’s how the book starts; sort of a ‘hillbillies ‘r’ us” tone.  Yes, it reverts back to standard speech with the introduction of the main characters, but from the little bit I read, there was a preachy/lecturing tone sometimes.  I am also getting a little tired of supernatural detective agencies. 🙂  So, I can’t really comment on whether the book was good or not, but I will anyway.

Heart of the Wolf by Terry Spear: urban fantasy, werewolves.  I love werewolves.  I’d rather be a shapeshifter than a vampire any day.  And yep, I have to admit I didn’t finish this one either, although I made it about half way through.  ::le sigh::  I guess I just don’t get the animal heat thing.  Here is the heroine of our tale, Bella, in the midst of some wild disaster involving getting shot and captured, thinking about her would-be lover’s muscular thighs.  She can’t get her mind off of this guy (who is also a were).  There gets to be a whiny quality about her musings as well…why, why doesn’t he want me?  Why, why doesn’t he want to set up house and have puppies?  She’s a couple of hundred years old and sounds like a high school girl with a crush.  Plus, and this is picky, in the prologue, which is set in 1850, she is apparently wearing crotchless panties.   So, I’d give this one a pass, too.

All that said, if anyone wants any of these books, please let me know.  I’d be happy to mail them to you.

~ the grumpy hermit

April 6, 2008 - Posted by | Book reviews | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. If you don’t mind posting to Australia, I’d love to have Matters of the Blood, please.

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    Comment by Tez Miller | April 7, 2008

  2. I don’t mind at all. I’ll email you for the particulars. 🙂

    Comment by hermitwitch | April 7, 2008

  3. […] Hermitwitch reviews Happy Hour of the Damned by Mark Henry here as well as Matters of the Blood by Maria Lima, Black Magic Woman by Justin Gustainis and Heart of the Wolf by Terry Spear here. […]

    Pingback by Thursday Review Round-Up « Urban Fantasy Land | April 10, 2008

  4. Finally got around to starting Matters of the Blood the other day. Almost took me three months, eh? 😉

    Anyway, I’m just a few pages shy of p50, and I’m thinking of giving up. I’m just not…interested. Am I too picky?

    Ach, close to my bedtime now. Have a lovely day! 🙂

    Comment by Tez Miller | June 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

